Skip to main content

Secondary Traumatic Stress - a Hidden Epidemic

virtual/online

Secondary Traumatic Stress - a Hidden Epidemic

Register here

The "Great Resignation" related to COVID exposed this accelerating crisis. Please join us for a 1-hour panel - plus an optional 15-minute discussion/ Q & A time - highlighting secondary traumatic stress (STS) in the workforce and solutions. Hosted by PACEsConnection.com

When

September 30, 2022, 1 - 2:15 PM Eastern/ 12 - 1:15 PM Central/ 11 - 12:15 PM Mountain/ 10 - 11:15 AM Pacific

Agenda

  • Opening and Overview
  • Setting the Context - Historical, Current, and Exacerbating Factors
  • Finding Solutions and Resources
  • Applying STS Solutions in a Workplace - Real World Case
  • Closing - Call to Action
  • Discussion/ Q&A

The "Great Resignation," "Quiet Quitting," and rising social awareness of historical racism have all brought attention to a common but frequently overlooked hazard of caregiving professions: Secondary Traumatic Stress (STS). In the execution of duties, professions that support our society with compassion and empathy can face traumatic stress from exposure to the experiences of the people that they are there to support. This stress can have deleterious physical and emotional consequences similar to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

STS is a multi-faceted, complex issue that has affects at the individual, interpersonal, organizational, and community level. Organizations have an ethical obligation to increase awareness and implement policies and practices to protect employees from STS.

While there is not one single approach, or intervention that can address STS across different disciplines- recognizing and destigmatizing this prevalent workplace hazard along with providing information to employees and opportunities to prevent STS or reduce its impact, can improve the well-being of our workforce.You are invited to this panel to hear about solutions and to engage in your own support of this area.

We will also be sharing a new website which provides many helpful resources and reporting on a petition to OSHA to recognize secondary trauma as an occupational hazard and to create standards for organizations to mitigate the occurrences of STS.

Panelists and Moderators

  • Ingrid L. Cockhren, M.Ed., CEO of PACEs Connection
  • Vic Compher, Social Worker & Film Producer
  • Patty Davis, LSCSW, LCSW, IMH-III, Program Manager, Trauma Informed Care, Children’s Mercy Kansas City
  • Leslie Lieberman MSW, Health Federation of Philadelphia, Philadelphia ACE Task Force
  • Carolyn Smith-Brown, Health Federation of Philadelphia, Philadelphia ACE Task Force

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post
Copyright Β© 2022, PACEsConnection. All rights reserved.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×