Skip to main content

Rally for House Bill 914: Support our Direct Care Workforce

 

Thank you to everyone who reached out to legislators for our rally day on House Bill 914 Support Our Direct Care Workforce!

A special thanks to Lutheran Family Services, Universal Mental Health Services, Alexander Youth Network, A Small Miracle and ACI-Dungarvin (North Carolina), for having attendees who came to the legislature! If we missed anyone else who came to Raleigh, we apologize and hope you will let us know you were there!

We had a fantastic press conference with Representative Moffitt, Brisson and Lambeth. Rep Lambeth noted that the DSW workforce were true “invisible heroes” and he believed this was one of the most important bills to move this session! He urged us to call and write our legislators to help them understand the importance of this bill.

Rep Moffitt said that he was “embarrassed by the wages NC pays our Direct Support Workers” and the bill had to move this session because we couldn’t wait any longer to compensate them appropriately.

Our guest speakers included:

Ben Smith, a recipient of Innovation Waiver services along with his mother Annette and his DSW worker James Taylor;

  • Sarah Roethlinger – Executive Director, Youth Focus
  • Helah Smith – Certified Nursing Assistant

Didn’t get a chance to call or write this week? No problem – your calls and emails are still needed and important. We need to keep letting the House, and particularly the Senate, know how important this bill is for North Carolina.

Call or email legislators today!!!!

HB 914 Support Our Direct Care Workforce would increase the hourly wages of direct support staff across a variety of Medicaid services including Innovations and other home and community-based waivers, personal care services, ICFs, home health, nursing homes and other behavioral health community and residential facilities. This increased rate is intended to make sure that people who qualify for services have the direct support workforce they need. Increased rates mean providers can pay competitive wages, retain experienced Direct Support Workers, and people who need support can receive the help they need.

Download talking points here.

WE NEED YOUR VOICE TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE!!!!!

Reach out to the legislators that represent you but please also contact the key legislators who make the budget decisions listed below:

Senator Jim Perry representing Lenoir and Wayne County

Office Phone:  (919) 733-5621    Email: Jim.Perry@ncleg.gov

Senator Joyce Krawiec representing Forsyth and Davie

Office Phone: (919) 733-7850  Email: Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.gov

Senator Jim Burgin representing Harnett, Johnston and Lee

Office Phone: (919) 733-5748   Email: Jim.Burgin@ncleg.gov

Senator Deanna Ballard representing Alleghany, Ashe, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes

Office Phone: (919) 733-5742  Email: Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.gov

Senator Steve Jarvis representing Davidson and Montgomery

Office Phone: (919) 733-5743  Email: Steve.Jarvis@ncleg.gov

Senator Kathy Harrington representing Gaston

Office Phone: (919) 733-5734 Email: Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.gov

Senator Ralph Hise representing Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Yancey

Office Phone: (919) 733-3460  Email: Ralph.Hise@ncleg.gov

Senator Brent Jackson representing Sampson, Duplin, Johnston

Office Phone:  (919) 733-5705  Email:  Brent.Jackson@ncleg.gov

Representative Kim Baker representing Cabarrus

Office Phone: 919-733-5861        Email: Kristin.Baker@ncleg.gov

Representative Larry Potts representing Davidson

Office Phone: 919-715-0873         Email: Larry.Potts@ncleg.gov

Representative Wayne Sasser representing Stanly, Cabarrus, Rowan

Office Phone: 704-982-8003        Email: Wayne.Sasser@ncleg.gov

Representative Donna White representing Johnson

Office Phone: 919-889-1239         Email: Donna.White@ncleg.gov

Representative Donny Lambeth representing Forsyth

Office Phone: 919-733-5747        Email: Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.gov

Representative Jason Saine representing Lincoln

Office Phone: 919-733-5782        Email: Jason.Saine@ncleg.gov

Representative Dean Arc representing Union

Office Phone: 704-282-0418        Email: Dean.Arp@ncleg.gov

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Copyright © 2022, PACEsConnection. All rights reserved.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×