Skip to main content

Trauma-Informed Asthma Clinical Care Considerations and Pilot Study Webinar [safeandsound.org]

Online

Trauma-Informed Asthma Clinical Care Considerations and Pilot Study Webinar [safeandsound.org]

National Committee on ACEs and Toxic Stress (NCATS)

Trauma-Informed Asthma Clinical Care Considerations and
Pilot Study Webinar

Date: December 12, 2022
Time: Noon PT/1pm MT/2pm CT/3pm ET

Asthma is the most common chronic lung disease in childhood (2016 CDC National Health Interview Survey) and disproportionately affects children living in poverty and African American children (American Lung Association). A growing body of evidence links early life adversity with increased risk for childhood asthma (Bhan 2014; Wing 2015; Rosa 2018) and points to our stress physiology (impacting our neurologic, endocrine, metabolic, and immune functioning) as an underlying pathway. While current asthma management guidelines give a nod to addressing social factors, they do not spotlight the need to specifically prevent and mitigate childhood adversity nor provide concrete recommendations on how to screen for or treat underlying stress physiology. This is in large part due to a paucity of research specifically focused on stress-related interventions and implementation science.
Thus, through literature reviews and expert panel discussions, the National Committee on Asthma and Toxic Stress (NCATS) has drafted Clinical Care Considerations for Asthma and Toxic Stress that can be tested through partnerships with clinics across the country. The goal will be to pilot these Clinical Care Considerations to build the evidence base needed to eventually update our standard asthma management guidelines to account for the impact of early life adversity and toxic stress.

In this webinar, members of the National Committee on Asthma and Toxic Stress (NCATS) will be reviewing and requesting feedback on:
The draft Clinical Care Considerations for Asthma and Toxic Stress.
A plan for testing one or more of these considerations in clinical practice (pilot sites), both primary care and specialty care (asthma/pulmonary clinics).

Opportunities for feedback will be provided in the webinar, as well as through a post-webinar survey for those who are not able to attend live or would like time for deeper review before providing feedback.

[Please click here to register.]

Who Is Attending

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post
Copyright ÂĐ 2022, PACEsConnection. All rights reserved.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×